Evolutionryary and Institutional Economic Review - The Japan Association of Evolutionary Economics
conferences new and announcement  
aims and scope
how to submit
instruction to authors
instruction to referee
editorial board
submit from here
subscription
EIER on web

News/Announcements

No.6 (Febuary 24, 2014) EIERのシュプリンガーからの発行に伴います、会員の皆様へのお知らせ

進化経済学会の皆様

今般、進化経済学会が発行しております、英文学術誌Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Reviewがspringerから発行されることになりました。それに伴いまして、SpringerLink http://link.springer.com/ に掲載されている電子情報にアクセスしていただくことが可能となります。
 ですが、各自個別に登録を行っていただく必要があります。大変お手数ですが、http://link.springer.com/ から、Sign up/Log in'(画面右上にあります)をクリックしていただき、登録を開始してください。登録に際しましては別途郵送でお知らせしております、Association Codeが必要です。 そちらをご参照いただきながら登録を進めてください。質問がございましたら、societies-online@springer.com にご連絡ください。



No.5 (Semptember 20, 2014) Our move to a new Springer series from the present form of EIER A Retrospective on the past decade


Announcement

Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review (EIER) will be published by Springer from Volume 12 (2015). In September 2014, Springer opened our new submission site: http://www.springer.com/economics/economic+theory/journal/40844. As a result, the present form of our publishing system will be closed until 10th January 2015. The old published materials will be then moved to the Springer site.
A brief retrospective on our history


EIER was founded in 2004 by the Japan Association for Evolutionary Economics (JAFEE) as an international journal for promoting evolutionary and institutional economics. On founding the journal, our funds were too low to manage publication through a reputable commercial publisher, so we had to publish the journal ourselves. Given the high level of reader and author support during the past 11 years inside and outside the field, both within Japan and internationally, we have successfully been able to publish two issues a year until now. Speaking frankly, we appreciate that our activities have been modestly successful, but regret that our journal has suffered somewhat from the low level of its impact on academic society. Given this situation we urgently need to discuss our dilemma relating to the present form of publication.

As you know, the publishing environment is now more exposed to rapid innovations in connection with information and communication technology than when we established the journal. It is true our government has spared no effort to assist organizations like ours to adapt to new methods of dissemination of knowledge. In 2006, we introduced the present web based submission and review system using the J-STAGE2 system provided by JST, a government agency supporting academic societies. In 2011, JST updated this system to make it better suited for XML format and other technological innovations as J-STAGE3, and also suggested options for a commercially popular editorial system. In line with this suggestion EIER adopted the “Scholar One Manuscript” system of Thomson Reuters. At this stage, our journal was equipped with an indispensable tool set at a fully-fledged international level, which brought us the appearance of being able to compete with other commercial journals.

Nevertheless, the external environment has developed even more rapidly in some respects than was originally envisaged. A greater number of new journals are being published each year, and their publication style is not limited to traditional methods. Early publication on the web has already been established, and open access content is also obtaining some commercial advantage. The great variation in the content of our articles means that we must make constant efforts to adapt to either new methods of publication technology, or new forms of journal marketing. In particular, in the midst of the introduction of a series of web innovations for readers, we must spend much effort on web-based marketing. But as an independent agent separated from the international network of innovations we are naturally almost always behind the new trends. We must confess that it is very difficult to compete with other, especially commercially supported, journals outside the traditional area of print-based competition.

We can illustrate this using the example of citation rates. As you know, to calculate the Impact Factor (IF) of a journal, the denominator is a product of the number of articles annually produced over the last two years. The numerator is the current number of citations of the articles by others in this year. This arithmetic ratio is the IF. According to this calculation method, the present IF of EIER may be up to 0.5 in 2014, because our citation number during the last year given by the J-STAGE retrieval system was 24. But we were disappointed to find out that our estimation will not be adopted, because the figure can be recognized only if the annually published articles are greater than 25. This implies that the denominator must be over 50. However, we have never published such a high annual total number of articles due to the restrictions imposed by our budget. This is also the reason why we have not been able to print more copies. Taking into account this situation, we are keen to reorganize our publishing and marketing systems. That is to say, we are forced to look for an opportunity to update our journal system in conjunction with an influential international publishing company.

We have replicated the two introductory articles of JAFEE that appeared in the “Information Bulletin of the Union of National Economic Associations in Japan”. You can briefly check our past history and the development of JAFEE and EIER from these articles, and understand how our own unique path has progressed. The first article appeared in Volume No.24: 30-37, the second in No.30: 34-42. JAFEE is a regular member of the Union of National Economic Associations.

Advancement in the Future


Summing up, we must solve these pressing problems to cope with the present level of competition with our journal. Coincidently, this April, we were quite fortunate to get an offer for EIER to become a Springer journal. This offer is the life-saver we need to improve our status as an important and relevant journal and Association. We believe that this fortune is a result of our constant efforts to establish our own unique way. For example, as you know, in 2013 JAFEE also committed to publish with Springer the monograph series entitled: Evolutionary Economics and Social Complexity Science (EESCS) at http://www.springer.com/series/11930; thus EIER and EESCS will be in a cooperative relationship for JAFEE through Springer if we go ahead with this proposal.

So we sincerely ask for cooperation to achieve this outcome for our journal from all society members and all the readers of EIER across the world.

Yuji Aruka Editor-in-Chief until January 2015 Coordinating Editor from 2015 Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review http://www.springer.com/economics/economic+theory/journal/40844


No.4 (June 16, 2014) The announcement on submission to EIER

EIER will be updated as a new series from Springer. The new submission entrance will be newly arranged until August. The present submission form has been inactive since June 30-th 2014. Even if you should try to submit your work, the system will reject it. . Please temporarily contact to kz-ogawa@kansai-u.ac.jp.


A New Kind of Economy is Born Social Decision-Makers Beat the "Homo Economicus"

No.3 (September 5, 2013) The announcement on publishing a new voume 10.1.

EIER vol.10.1 is now published on the website :https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/eier


In this volume, Prof. Helbing contributed "Economics 2.0: The Natural Step towards a Self-Regulating, Participatory Market Society". This paper states an innovative proposal to carve "a new economics with homo socialis" by suggesting an exit way from " by homo economics" The attached document is a shortened version of the full paper. This must be useful to understand his essence. Please click here.

A New Kind of Economy is Born Social Decision-Makers Beat the "Homo Economicus"

No.2 (September 2, 2013) The announcement on the book sereis on Evolutionary Economics and Social Complexity Science.

The Japanese Association for Evolutionary Economics (JAFEE) always has adhered to its original aim of taking an explicit "integrated" approach. This path has been followed steadfastly since the Association’s establishment in 1997 and, as well, since the inauguration of our international journal in 2004. We have deployed an agenda encompassing a contemporary array of subjects including but not limited to: foundations of institutional and evolutionary economics, criticism of mainstream views in the social sciences, knowledge and learning in socio-economic life, development and innovation of technologies, transformation of industrial organizations and economic systems, experimental studies in economics, agent-based modeling of socio-economic systems, evolution of the governance structure of firms and other organizations, comparison of dynamically changing institutions of the world, and policy proposals in the transformational process of economic life. In short, our starting point is an "integrative science" of evolutionary and institutional views. Furthermore, we always endeavor to stay abreast of newly established methods such as agent-based modeling, socio/econo-physics, and network analysis as part of our integrative links.

More fundamentally, "evolution" in social science is interpreted as an essential key word, i.e., an integrative and /or communicative link to understand and re-domain various preceding dichotomies in the sciences: ontological or epistemological, subjective or objective, homogeneous or heterogeneous, natural or artificial, selfish or altruistic, individualistic or collective, rational or irrational, axiomatic or psychological-based, causal nexus or cyclic networked, optimal or adaptive, micro- or macroscopic, deterministic or stochastic, historical or theoretical, mathematical or computational, experimental or empirical, agent-based or socio/econo-physical, institutional or evolutionary, regional or global, and so on. The conventional meanings adhering to various traditional dichotomies may be more or less obsolete, to be replaced with more current ones vis-à-vis contemporary academic trends. Thus we are strongly encouraged to integrate some of the conventional dichotomies.

These attempts are not limited to the field of economic sciences, including management sciences, but also include social science in general. In that way, understanding the social profiles of complex science may then be within our reach. In the meantime, contemporary society appears to be evolving into a newly emerging phase, chiefly characterized by an information and communication technology (ICT) mode of production and a service network system replacing the earlier established factory system with a new one that is suited to actual observations. In the face of these changes we are urgently compelled to explore a set of new properties for a new socio/economic system by implementing new ideas. We thus are keen to look for "integrated principles" common to the above-mentioned dichotomies throughout our serial compilation of publications. We are also encouraged to create a new, broader spectrum for establishing a specific method positively integrated in our own original way.

More infomation is obtained Springer website.

No.1 (April 8, 2013) Greetings and the first announcement

1. Greetings from the editorial committee

Since 2008 we have utilized the J-STAGE platform(the previous J-STAGE2) to publish the electronic version of our journal. In April 2012, then, the J-STAGE platform(the present J-STAGE3) has been entirely updated:

https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/eier

More importantly, on this opportunity, we newly adopted ScholarOneManuscripts as our professional electronic submission/review system:

http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/eier

Thus we are enjoying an advanced on-line environment for reading as well as submitting.
In accordance with the J-STAGE's refurbishment policy we have also prepared for our new website. Now we are very pleased to inform you of the release of the web page specialized for our journal:

http://evolutionary-and-institutional-economics-review.jp

Please bookmark this URL for your computer. Here we would like to provide you with the up-to-date information of our journal.

2. Journal profile

Thank you very much for your kind interest on EIER: Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review. https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/eier is published by the society of Japan Association for Evolutionary Economics. This journal is an internationally refereed journal (paper based), published by the society without any commercial basis. The publication of Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review is one of our core activities as we stated in the above. In March 2009 we celebrated the completion of the 5th volume since the inaugural issue released in 2004. We then noticed this celebration at the end of vol. 6. no.1. We would like to recommend you to have a look on the next articles for your better understanding of EIER:

(1) Wikipedia's article on EIER

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Evolutionary_and_Institutional_Economics_Review

(2) Information Bulletin, The Union of National Economic Association in Japan, vol.30, pp.34-42

http://www.gakkairengo.jp/nenpou/pdf/no_30.pdf

We still keep to an independent policy to publish EIER by ourselves without resort to any commercial publishing company, though Cabell’s Directory, EBSCO, and JEL have added our journal in their respective lists. As for Thomson-Reuter impact factor index citation, we have applied to its registration several years ago. But, at present, we are not permitted into her citation index. A reason not to be up may be a low citation rate of EIER. So we are keen to upgrade the citation rate of EIER by obtaining a series of high quality papers. This is just the reason why we are keen to encourage you to submit to our journal.

3. Our new policy for the online-download, initiated from 28th march 2013


Dear our respected subscribers At the end of March 2013, we have just achieved the on-line publication of vol.9.1, Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review.(The printed version will be published until mid-April. Please wait for a while.) This issue was planned to appear in December 2012. Due to a big delay of the compilation of the specially arranged part:Evolution of Firms and Industries, we were forced to wait for the final proofs of this part. First of all, we must heartily apologize you for our big delay of publication.

We must also inform you of the change of publication month. EIER's publication schedule will be changed into June/December(no.1/no.2) from the previous March/September. As an intermediate process, we thus published 2 issues, i.e., "vol.9 Supplement and vol.9.1 (December)" in 2012th fiscal year.

In 2013, we will regularly publish vol.10.1 (June) and vol.10.2(December), and in the coming years. We are now preparing for the special issue of econophysics in the coming vol.10.1 (June 2013).

We would also like to inform you of the change of our web download policy. From March 28, 2013, we have moved to the charged download policy. Our charge restriction will be applied to the last three volumes. Earlier contents before the last tree years will be exempted from on-line charges, even if you should not subscribe to EIER. The readers who have their regular subscription of our journal will, however, be permitted to have free access to any issue by your own password allocated by our office soon. This password will be sent by snail mail for security. If you have any question, please do not hesitate to ask us. As for the subscriber who is keen to get password, please ask our editorial office:

evoeco-edit@bunken.co.jp

4. Invitation for subscription

As you understand, the readers who do not have their subscription contracts could not have access the last three volumes on the web. We are afraid of whether you may lose some exciting opportunities for your advancement of our evolutionary economic sciences. So we would cordially like to invite to your subscription.

On subscription, you will be allocated your own password to secure your unlimited access to the articles on the web:

https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/eier

We would be very grateful if you should immediately move to our subscription page and sign for your contract with our journal.

http://evolutionary-and-institutional-economics-review.jp/subscription.html

If you have any question, please do not hesitate to ask:

evoeco-edit@bunken.co.jp

Thank you very much for your kind patience of reading. Please enjoy your e-print version.

Professor Dr. Yuji ARUKA Eiditor-in-Chief,
Evolutionary and Institutional Economics Review
http://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/browse/eier
Vice-President, Japan Association for Evolutionary Economics http://www.jafee.org/diary.cgi